India attained independence from British rule on 15 August 1947. The 1950 Constitution provides for a Parliamentary system of Government with a bicameral parliament and three independent branches: the executive, the legislature and the judiciary. The country has a federal structure with elected Governments in States.

There are 29 states and 6 Union Territories (administered directly by the Central Government)

Population 1.02 billion (2001 Census)
Geographical Location  Lies between latitudes 8 ° 4′ and 37 ° 6 ‘ north and longitudes 68 ° 7 ‘ and 97 ° 25’ east.The Indian peninsula is separated from mainland Asia by the Himalayas . The country is surrounded by the Bay of Bengal in the east, the Arabian Sea in the west, and the Indian Ocean to the south.



National Flag


National anthem


Jan gana mana, composed originally in Bengali by Rabindranath Tagore, was adopted by the Constituent Assembly as the national anthem of India on 24thJanuary, 1950. National flag
National emblem 


The state emblem is an adaptation from the Sarnath Lion Capital of Ashoka.


In the original, there are four lions, standing back to back, mounted on an abacus with a frieze carrying sculptures in high relief of an elephant, a galloping horse, a bull and a lion separated by intervening wheels over a bell-shaped lotus. Carved out of a single block of polished sandstone, the capital is crowned by the Wheel of the Law (Dharma Chakra).


The Indian Union  29 States and six centrally administered Union Territories


Form of government Parliamentary, based on universal adult franchise
Legislature Parliament, consists of President and the two Houses, known as Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and Lok Sabha (House of the People)


Executive  Consists of President, Vice-President and Council of Ministers led by the Prime Minister
Judiciary  Independent of executive
Currency Indian Rupee (Rs)
GDP  (U.S. $ trillion) – 1.16
Per capita PPP (U.S. $)  4,139
Exchange rate Average rupee exchange rate to a U.S. $ – 43.32 (2008)
Entry/Exit requirements A passport and visa are required for entry into India for tourism or business. All visitors must obtain visas at an Indian Embassy or Consulate abroad prior to entering the country. There are no provisions for visas upon arrival, and those arriving in India without visas bearing the correct validity dates and number of entries are subject to deportation.
Most Preferred Destination AT Kearney places India as the second most attractive FDI destination in the world in its latest survey.
Major Ports Mumbai, Kolkata, Cochin, Dahej, Kakinada, Kandla, Mangalore, Marmagoa, Mundra, Chennai, Nhavasheva, Paradeep, Pipavav, Sikka, Tuticorin Vishakhapatnam, Surat (Magdalla), Nagapattinam, Okha , Dharamtar and Jamnagar.
Major trading partner US, Hong Kong, UK, Japan, Germany, Belgium, Saudi Arabia

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s